April 26, 2024, 07:30:29 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Drain cleaner to pure sulfuric acid for copper sulfate crystals  (Read 3866 times)

Offline Theprodigyp

• Very New Member
  • Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Hello, I'm pretty new to learning some chemistry and recently been interested in different kinds of Chrystal formations.  I know I can go online and purchase copper sulfate powder to mix with hot water which will grow crystals but a friend and fellow learner suggested learning to make copper sulfate from sulfuric acid using electro-chemically doing it.  I was wondering how may all of this be done with concentrated sulfuric acid from drain cleaner. I've ran a few tests with no luck. So I need help on the process. I've been watching countless videos in purifying the cleaner with hydrogen peroxide and boiling it off until the sulfuric acid is clear but I am honestly unsure. If anyone could help me with the steps it would take to make the sulfuric acid pure enough so when I place copper into the mix and electro chemically charge it the acid will be blue or pure enough to form crystals and please suggest anything I might need to do all of that. Currently I have glass beakers, copper plates and copper wire, I've got batteries and also a hefty black wall plug which might be used for charging batteries on a dock of some sort, also I have liquid lightning drain cleaner which is virgin sulfuric acid with a buffer. I'm not sure of the percent of sulfuric acid in it which is why I don't know if my other tests worked. The wall plug was recommend because I was told it would be more cost efficient to use in the solution. I do need to purchase a hot plate I assume and some 30% hydrogen peroxide I assume to actually get everything to work properly outside since I do not have a home lab or ventilation system. If there is any more information someone can give me to guide me to make this copper sulfate solution I would really appreciate it. I plan on incorporating cryst