April 25, 2024, 01:19:27 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: The true differences between allosteric regulation and reversible inhibition?  (Read 3831 times)

Offline Mike Dacre

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
I have been thinking a lot recently about competitive and allosteric inhibition of enzymes. I am very new to the field, so it is possible that I am being stupid. I would appreciate the input of an actual biochemist who understands the math better than I do.

A little background about me: I am a career changing pre-medical student but I deeply hate the medical and pre-medical way of thinking about science. I have no desire to 'just memorize it and get in', I want to understand. I am taking a biochemistry class now, and some of the explanations of inhibition and allosteric regulation are unsatisfying to me, and my instructor is unable to resolve the issues for me. I am here in the hope of getting a good explanation from an actual biochemist. I am not afraid of calculus or molecular biology, so the more thorough the explanation the better. Thank you so much in advance.

I first started thinking about this while reading Voet (p.493) and thinking through the derivations of the Michaelis-Menten equations for competitive and uncompetitive inhibition. These equations are actually only conditional on a competitive inhibitor *blocking* substrate binding, it doesn't have to be by a blockage of the active site. Similarly, an uncompetitive inhibitor doesn't have to bind allosterically, it just has to bind the Michaelis complex in a way that inhibits the actual reaction without blocking substrate binding.

Despite the fact that textbooks and undergrad teachers everywhere claim that competitive inhibition is always by a substrate analog, there appears to me to be nothing in the math that requires this.