March 29, 2024, 07:07:42 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: About the odds of postdoc position in Canada  (Read 2888 times)

Offline kamiyu

• Mole Snacks: +8/-7
About the odds of postdoc position in Canada
« on: July 29, 2016, 03:27:41 PM »
Hi everyone

I am wondering if anyone could give me some information about the easiness of finding a postdoc position in Canada at the moment.

My research area is material chemistry, organic electronics (e.g. OLEDs and solar cells etc.)

One thing I learnt from others is that Canada PIs do not like Chinese applicants, due to their "strong immigration" inclination. Is this true?

Offline Furanone

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +34/-2
  • Actually more a Food Chemist
Re: About the odds of postdoc position in Canada
« Reply #1 on: July 31, 2016, 09:15:12 AM »
I am from Canada (near Toronto, ON) and when I did my grad studies (MSc and PhD), my department averaged 70-100 grad students at a time (not including the 1-year non-thesis MSc program) with maybe 20-30 postdocs. I would say that only about 10-20% of the department were Canadian citizens with the remainder from various parts of the world -- Middle Eastern, India, China, South America, etc. Many of them would apply for residency and later citizenship, and this I think is good for the country since it keeps highly-skilled scientists in our workforce (There is often a complaint about a "Brain-Drain" as many Canadian scientists leave to work in the USA due to generally higher pay).