April 24, 2024, 08:24:15 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Electrophilic aromatic substitution  (Read 3139 times)

Offline iSherry

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Electrophilic aromatic substitution
« on: July 30, 2016, 03:01:40 PM »
Hi! I'm currently studying basic level organic chemistry on my own and I'm stuck on a problem regarding the following compounds:

The question is asking us to combine our knowledge of alkene addition reactions and Electrophilic aromatic substitution. It asks which of above compounds would react quicker with HBr. Now, my initial guess was that since the methoxy group is activating and the nitro group is deactivating, the nitrostyrene would react slower because of its fewer resonance structures. However, I am fairly certain that I am missing something, since I don't exactly know how the compounds would react with HBr. I thought that the methoxy-compound would react like this:

The proton would bond with the carbon with the least substituents (Markovnikov's rule) and the positive charge would then be stabilized with the pi electrons in the ring. My problem is though that I do not understand what happens with the Bromide ion. It can't bond with the carbon with the most substituents because there is no charge on it. EAS is a substitution reaction but what am I even substituting here?

This all feels like it is very obvious but I simply can't detangle the mess that has formed in my head. I would really appreciate some help.

EDIT: The deactivating group would react slower, of course. Not the activating group.

Offline orthoformate

• Mole Snacks: +14/-4
Re: Electrophilic aromatic substitution
« Reply #1 on: July 31, 2016, 12:16:41 AM »
My problem is though that I do not understand what happens with the Bromide ion. It can't bond with the carbon with the most substituents because there is no charge on it.

What do you mean here?

Offline iSherry

« Reply #2 on: July 31, 2016, 07:03:10 AM »