April 25, 2024, 08:14:06 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Natural convection with low Rayleigh number  (Read 3234 times)

Offline Hohenheim92

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Natural convection with low Rayleigh number
« on: August 25, 2016, 12:26:08 PM »
Goodmorning everyone,
I'm a chemical eng student and I would like to ask you a problem about natural convection. I read an article ("Trapping and manipulation of micro particles using laser-induced convection currents and photophoresis")(you can find the free pdf online if you want) where there is a thin enclosed layer of water between two glasses, and on the bottom glass there is a layer of silicon. The system is heated with a laser vertically and the silicon is then heated locally and transfers heat to the water solvent creating convection flows which form two symmetric convective rolls. The Rayleigh number of the system is << 1 and the convective flow is said to be a non Rayleigh flow (at page 5). My question is: is it possible to have convective rolls with a Rayleigh number which is lower than the critical one? Is it a different type of natural convection with respect to the Rayleigh-Bènard convection?
Thank you very much  :)

Offline Enthalpy

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +304/-59
Re: Natural convection with low Rayleigh number
« Reply #1 on: August 25, 2016, 08:10:13 PM »
Good luck...

If you read French you may check Sacadura's
Initiation aux transferts thermiques
which has a section just for natural convection heat transfers.

Offline Hohenheim92

« Reply #2 on: August 26, 2016, 05:37:38 AM »