April 23, 2024, 09:31:32 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: How to get great at organic chemistry  (Read 4343 times)

Offline Friedferrous

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
How to get great at organic chemistry
« on: September 24, 2016, 06:06:21 PM »
I have taken organic 1 and 2 and received a B and C, respectively. I am considering applying to grad school for medicinal chemistry but feel that I suck at organic chemistry. My question is as follows- how do you get great at organic chemistry via self study? I currently work in a lab ( synthesis) and I do decent work but I feel that my organic knowledge could always be better. Should I take time off to read up on the field before applying to graduate programs?

Any advice is appreciated!

Offline Raphael

• Mole Snacks: +5/-0
Re: How to get great at organic chemistry
« Reply #1 on: November 05, 2016, 10:25:04 PM »
Go back to the fundamentals of why things work the way they do. I was able to increase my organic chemistry ability a great deal by just reading parts of this book https://www.amazon.com/Writing-Reasonable-Organic-Reaction-Mechanisms/dp/0387954686

There are other books out there like this one. I can't say this one is the best or worst since I haven't looked at the others, but I think this book has a lot to offer.

Offline Vidya

• Mole Snacks: +46/-62
  • Online Chemistry and Organic Chemistry tutor
    • Online Chemistry Tutor
« Reply #2 on: November 06, 2016, 12:03:44 AM »
I have taken organic 1 and 2 and received a B and C, respectively. I am considering applying to grad school for medicinal chemistry but feel that I suck at organic chemistry. My question is as follows- how do you get great at organic chemistry via self study? I currently work in a lab ( synthesis) and I do decent work but I feel that my organic knowledge could always be better. Should I take time off to read up on the field before applying to graduate programs?

Any advice is appreciated!
Hi