April 25, 2024, 12:36:20 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Revisiting neutralizing vinegar's odor (CH3COONa's interaction w/lactic acid)  (Read 1812 times)

Offline fuulknotion

• Very New Member
  • Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Just to inform the forum off the bat, I haven’t dealt with chemistry since my college General Chemistry course in the 1980’s. Forewarned, meaning I know enough to appear foolish.

I’m trying to research the effects of Sodium Acetate has on Lactic Acid. Actually I’m studying vinegar’s effect on muscle tension/fatigue (sore muscles caused by Lactic and Pyroracemic Acid) as well its effect on the body’s ph levels.

To provide the forum some direction on my inquiry, I’m an amateur practitioner of TCM (Traditional Chinese Medicine), and traditionally all their herbal treatments are made from sake or vodka. In one of my books, Tom Bisio’s “A Tooth from the Tiger’s Mouth,” makes the suggestion that adding vinegar may aid in treating certain conditions; (by softening spasms in the muscle and tendon, and “smooth out” the flow of energy through the injured area). Having a chronic history of suffering severe calf muscle cramps I took notice of this suggestion. In researching I’ve turned up an interesting article on Naturodoc.com by Shomatsu Osada called “Vinegar for Life.” http://www.naturodoc.com/library/lifestyle/umeboshi_vinegar.htm.   He explains vinegar’s action on sore muscles and cramps.  I’ve tried adding vinegar to certain treatments to gauge its overall effectiveness and results were very promising but as with crank01’s post “How to Neutralize Vinegar’s Odor” the offensive odor mitigates possible benefits.