April 19, 2024, 08:37:49 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Endothermic reaction - dissolving ammonium nitrate in water  (Read 4382 times)

selmic28

Endothermic reaction - dissolving ammonium nitrate in water
« on: October 14, 2016, 12:59:28 PM »
Hello everyone!
I became interested in the effects of ammonium nitrate dissolving in water. I know it is an endothermic reaction, but have a few questions about it, since I am far from an expert in chemistry  ;D
I watched a lot of YouTube videos, and the temperature drop was significant, but in all of them quite large ammounts of water and ammonium nitrate were used. I was wondering how does the reaction "behave" when there is just a few ml of water and a very small amount of ammonium nitrate? (for example 5 ml and a gram of ammonium nitrate?). I don't have an opportunity to try it myself, so I hoped someone could tell me. Is the temperature drop the same? Or significantly reduced? Also, in a closed environment, like those instant cold packs, does the reaction produce any pressure? How come the packs dont break?
Once again, please excuse my ignorance, I am really a chemist amateur  :-\
Thank you in advance!

Offline Borek

• Mr. pH
  • Administrator
  • Deity Member
  • Mole Snacks: +1800/-410
  • I am known to be occasionally wrong.
    • Chembuddy
Re: Endothermic reaction - dissolving ammonium nitrate in water
« Reply #1 on: October 14, 2016, 02:32:06 PM »
I suggest you start by learning about the difference between intensive and extensive properties of matter, they play an important role here.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Intensive_and_extensive_properties
ChemBuddy chemical calculators - stoichiometry, pH, concentration, buffer preparation, titrations.info

Offline Enthalpy

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +304/-59
« Reply #2 on: October 15, 2016, 08:27:59 PM »