March 28, 2024, 04:58:47 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Co2 converion to cyclic carbonates  (Read 3712 times)

Offline bisilara

• Mole Snacks: +0/-1
Co2 converion to cyclic carbonates
« on: December 05, 2016, 04:55:23 AM »
I am a new PhD student in Chemical engineering  working on heterogeneous catalytic conversion of co2 to value added chemicals  with special focus on cycloaddition reaction of   co2 and Epichlorohydrin to produce Epichlorohydrin carbonate   (Please note that  Pure sample of Epichlorohydrin carbonate is not available from any chemical company for a standard calibration to guide my own product). From my literature review,  I come to understand that Epichlorohydrin carbonate has other names such as: Chloropropylene carbonate/ chloroprene carbonate etc. My problem and my question is:

1) Is  Epichlorohydrin carbonate the same as  Chloromethyl ethylene carbonate?
(because Chloromethyl ethylene carbonate has a pure sample.  If they are the  same,  then I can use Chloromethyl ethylene carbonate  for calibration instead of unavailable Epichlorohydrin carbonate)     

2) If they are not the same, can I produce my own Epichlorohydrin carbonate and calibrate it? how can I do this? I am really stuck! any help at all will worth more than a gold 

Thank you in advance

Offline sjb

• Global Moderator
  • Mole Snacks: +222/-42

Offline kriggy

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +135/-16
Re: Co2 converion to cyclic carbonates
« Reply #2 on: December 05, 2016, 05:24:11 AM »
I somehow fail to see how the 6 membered compound could be called epichlorhydrine carbonate. Maybe it would be helpful, if OP posted the structure he/she wants to make and then we can talk

Offline bisilara

« Reply #3 on: December 05, 2016, 06:07:47 AM »