April 19, 2024, 08:02:25 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: pH curve in weak acid vs strong base titrations  (Read 2117 times)

Offline brotherwarren

• Very New Member
  • Mole Snacks: +0/-0
pH curve in weak acid vs strong base titrations
« on: December 16, 2016, 07:10:58 AM »
Hi, I am a UK high school teacher.  I am hoping to get some help answering a question:-

In a titration where a strong base is being added to a weak acid, a plot of the pH value against vol of base added shows an initial rapid change in pH, that becomes less rapid after a few cm3 of base have been added.   

I understand that the explanation for the slowing of the rate of pH change is usually stated as a buffer is being formed.  The first few drops of OH- are being added to a weak acid only, partially neutralising the acid produces a buffer that resists rapid pH change.   
[HA]  ::equil:: [H+] + [A-]
My question is, why does a pure weak acid solution not work as effectively as a buffer at preventing rapid pH change?  In my understanding a buffer resists pH change by shifting the dissociation equilibrium in the direction that replaces H+ ions that have been neutralised by the base.  If this is the case, wouldn't it follow that a weak acid, with large concentration of un-dissociated acid molecules in equilibrium with tiny amount of conjugate base should be able to shift to the right, replacing the H+ ions that have been removed? Why is it necessary to have a high(er) concentration of conjugate base ions in solution before the weak acid molecules are able to begin dissociating?

Offline AWK

• Retired Staff
  • Mole Snacks: +555/-93
Re: pH curve in weak acid vs strong base titrations
« Reply #1 on: December 16, 2016, 07:36:41 AM »
Buffer solutions work effectively within Bronsted acid to Bronsted base ratio from 1:10 to 10:1. Outside these limits more important are strong Bronsted acid or strong Bronsted base alone.
AWK

Offline Irlanur

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +32/-4