April 23, 2024, 02:27:39 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Concentration of nitric acid  (Read 3506 times)

Offline kamikaze762x39

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Concentration of nitric acid
« on: February 01, 2017, 08:14:11 PM »
Maybe this should have gone in citizen chemist...  :-\

First off, I'm a total noob, but I have always been interested in chemistry.  I have been trying to understanding some of the concepts of fractional distillation and have been studying how azeotropes affect the boiling points of mixtures.  For some reason, I just can't seem to put into a concrete understanding of the results.

I made nitric acid by reacting potassium nitrate, copper, and HCL and bubbling it through 3% peroxide.  The resulting solution will bubble when copper is placed in it, but is too weak to etch silver, so I need to concentrate it.  I bought a 2000ml boiling flask, a fractionating column, thermometer, condenser, drip adapter, and collection flask. 

So I'm all set to go, and here is what I know about this process.  From what I read, I am expecting to get mostly water in the residue, with the distillate being more concentrated?  So HNO3 boils at 83C and water boils at 100C.  But the azeotrope boils at 120.5C. 

So... HNO3, being the more volatile, should vaporize first, right?  I am assuming this is regardless of whether the azeotrope is negative or positive. 

I am also assuming that the temperature at the condenser neck should ramp up until it reaches 83C and hold close to that range until the less volatile compound starts to reach the top? 

Part of it I can't quite understand, though.  If I am liberating the more volatile compound, does this not mean that my residue is actually moving AWAY from the azeotrope?  And by this, I should be getting ideally a 68% concentration in the distillate... but by this, the boiling point should be 120.5C... at which I'm going to be getting a ton of water instead of the HNO3...