March 29, 2024, 09:17:31 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Chemical Formula comparisons  (Read 3301 times)

Offline Uncle Yoyo

• Very New Member
  • Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Chemical Formula comparisons
« on: April 07, 2017, 06:55:59 PM »
OK,
I am an accountant, so forgive me for asking a question that probably can be answered by a first year chemistry student.

I have researched this question on & off for several years, but no one has verified, or discounted my hypothesis.

(Research data located at bottom of Post)

On to the question.
I recently purchased a Water Preserver Concentrate (EPA Reg No. 61428-1)
Sodium Hypochlorite Solution (CAS# 7681-52-9) Concentration 5.25%.
This is to treat 55 gallons of water for storage for up to 5 years. (NaOCI, I think)
This is $14 for 1 oz.

I looked at the Clorox Laundry Bleach ingredients:
Sodium Hypochlorite 007681-52-9, 5.25%
Inert Ingredients (Mostly water I believe) 94.75%
These appear to be identical to me. And at $2 for 1 gallon, ( or $0.015 per oz.) I don’t want to waste my money.

So is my anal retentive accounting mind correct or am I altogether confused (about this anyway)?

Now if I am on the right track, I further noticed that the ingredients for
Clorox ULTRA Bleach are: Sodium Hydroxide <0.2% & Sodium Hypochlorite 007681-52-9, 6.0 -7.35%
It appears that this would work even better since it is more concentrated, however, I’m not sure what the
Sodium Hydroxide will do if anything.

I hope I have asked the question in a way that is easily understandable.
I have included items below from my research.

Thank you for looking. L Sharp

*SNIP* MSDS
« Last Edit: April 08, 2017, 06:37:49 AM by Arkcon »

Offline Borek

• Mr. pH
  • Administrator
  • Deity Member
  • Mole Snacks: +1799/-410
  • I am known to be occasionally wrong.
    • Chembuddy
Re: Chemical Formula comparisons
« Reply #1 on: April 07, 2017, 07:54:46 PM »