April 25, 2024, 10:57:33 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: How to remove CaO from reaction product?  (Read 2586 times)

Offline nabilanft

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
How to remove CaO from reaction product?
« on: April 13, 2017, 04:24:42 AM »
Hi All,

I'm currently doing my thesis about extracting Neodymium from its oxide using CaH2.
Based on papers that I read, reaction between Nd-oxide and CaH2 will produce Nd metal, CaO, and H2 gas.

My question is, how to remove CaO? As I know, CaO can dissolve in acetic acid or any weak acid but I don't know what pH of the acid.
Can you give me an example like paper that have an explanation about this?
Please respond it ASAP. Thank you  :)
« Last Edit: April 13, 2017, 04:35:05 AM by sjb »

Offline Arkcon

• Retired Staff
  • Mole Snacks: +533/-147
Re: How to remove CaO from reaction product?
« Reply #1 on: April 13, 2017, 06:58:21 AM »
I'd like to welcome you, nabilanft: to the chemical forums, but I'd like to ask you to trouble yourself to read our Forum Rules{click}.  You agreed to these rules as a condition of signing up for our forum, and they apply to you, whether you agree with them or not, or even if you're unaware of them.  You have violated several of our rules upon arrival.  Lets try to work with your question, a little bit at a time, together.

Hi All,

I'm currently doing my thesis

Interesting.  It seems you're at an upper level assignment.

about extracting Neodymium from its oxide using CaH2.

An interesting application.  Is it an important one?  Is this typically how this materiel is produced?  Is neodymium oxide common?  Is it often found in pure form?  Probably not an important concern for the question you've posted, but worthwhile for you to review for the entire thesis.  Just a suggestion.

Based on papers that I read, reaction between Nd-oxide and CaH2 will produce Nd metal, CaO, and H2 gas.