April 26, 2024, 03:05:16 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Published ΔH vs experimentally calculated ΔH  (Read 2288 times)

Offline ajax0604

• Mole Snacks: +3/-1
Published ΔH vs experimentally calculated ΔH
« on: May 13, 2017, 07:47:56 AM »
I'm studying calorimetry at the moment and this type of question often comes up in practice questions - "Explain why the calculated value of ΔH for this reaction might not be the same as the published value of ΔH".
I know the main reason is heat loss to the surrounding due to inadequate insulation but I was wondering if it would also be correct to say that the heat transferred to the calorimeter itself and its components (e.g. stirrer, thermometer etc) has been ignored.

I'm not sure what kind of calorimeters have been used to find the published ΔH values but would the heat transferred to the calorimeter itself have been taken into account to ensure the results were as accurate as possible?

Offline Enthalpy

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +304/-59
Re: Published ΔH vs experimentally calculated ΔH
« Reply #1 on: May 13, 2017, 10:50:00 AM »
Hi Ajax0604,

What do you call "calculated" value: deduced from your measurements? Or (yuk!) estimated by software?

I'd trust (maybe I'm horribly naive) some experimenters like Dorofeeva to have made the corrections they found meaningful. Though, published data is brutally inconsistent, even for banal components.

One reason, in the case of the enthalpy of formation, is that it's deduced from the enthalpy of combustion, which is big and whose small relative errors have big consequences on the heat of formation. Hydrogenolysis would be better than combustion for that purpose, but it must be impractical.

One other reason is that the reactants' state of aggregation isn't always indicated.