March 29, 2024, 05:09:48 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Fiestaware to UO2?  (Read 4166 times)

Offline sslaptnhablhat

• Mole Snacks: +2/-6
Fiestaware to UO2?
« on: July 09, 2017, 07:55:13 PM »
Not entirely convinced if this should go in nuclear chem. category, considering I'm a high school student and am doing this as a hobby. Anyway, I want to attempt to extract Uranium Dioxide from fiestaware. I have some mildly radioactive fiestaware, but I do not know what concentration of Sulfuric acid I should use to dissolve the glaze, although I suspect 36% might work, or how to filter the UO2 off, nor can I find any decent, relatively cheap offers for H2SO4 on Amazon or Ebay. I'd appreciate if someone could give me some insight.

Offline Arkcon

• Retired Staff
  • Mole Snacks: +533/-147
Re: Fiestaware to UO2?
« Reply #1 on: July 16, 2017, 07:19:08 AM »
Not entirely convinced if this should go in nuclear chem. category, considering I'm a high school student and am doing this as a hobby.

OK.  Look at the headers in each of these sub-forums:

http://www.chemicalforums.com/index.php?board=4.0

http://www.chemicalforums.com/index.php?board=27.0

http://www.chemicalforums.com/index.php?board=9.0

I generally put hobby chemistry in Citizen Chemist.

Anyway, I want to attempt to extract Uranium Dioxide from fiestaware. I have some mildly radioactive fiestaware,

Wow.  Good quality Fiestaware, with the uranium glaze is hard to find these days.  Are you sure you want to destroy it?

but I do not know what concentration of Sulfuric acid I should use to dissolve the glaze,

OK.  Lets assume the UO2 doesn't affect the glaze's chemical properties.  That may be over simplifying, but one step at a time.  What is glaze made of?  What does non-uranium glaze react with?

although I suspect 36% might work,

Based on what resource?

or how to filter the UO2 off,