April 19, 2024, 01:41:08 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Bonding/Reactivity  (Read 5714 times)

Offline pyrophoric

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Bonding/Reactivity
« on: July 30, 2017, 09:33:11 PM »
I'm an undergrad senior of a biochem degree at a state university and I've spent a lot of time thinking about chemical bonding + reactivity throughout undergrad trying to approach what drives bonding & reactivity and most of the time in chemistry, organic chemistry, biochemistry-it is polarity- positive and negative attractions between ions, functional groups, or amino acids and the magnitude of those attractions based on the electronegativity of the atoms or charge on the ions that drives the enthalpy of bond breaking and formation along with the re-ordering of the environment based on entropic changes allowing spontaneous reactions to proceed. 

I've studied some electricity (even less magnetism) in physics classes and I'm trying to relate these concepts with potential energy through pure electronic interactions like coulombs law, electric fields, voltage but a lot of these equations depend on distance and that doesn't really work for electrons moving about the nucleus, the distance isn't constant.  So I can't exactly account for the energy from that perspective at all which brings me back to entropy and I start to think that there is energy in the immediate environment right around the ions/atoms/molecules.  Negative and positive attractions aren't static, they have mobility and fluctuate in the environment to create things like induced dipoles creating a chain reaction to alter these electronic fields across the molecule and probably further, like a wave that dissipates with resistance.  But what is the resistance? Is it just the permittivity of free space that needs to be overcome by the potential energy between molecules that allows reactions to proceed through bond reformation and environmental re-ordering?