April 25, 2024, 08:00:10 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: The role of azeotropic distillate for the formation of carboxylic anhydrides  (Read 2040 times)

Offline Beatle

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
The role of using azeotropic distillation, i find interesting, because in short, often what gets eliminated in reactions, are species that reverse the initial reaction to begin with, and one common eliminated specie, is H2O.

This is classically known, for the difficulties in synthesising, or simply attempting to distill absolute ethanol. What appears to occur, when ethanol is distilled, a point is reached when the liquid contains 95% ethanol, in conjunction with 5% water, as well as the vapour phase containing this exact ratio, hence with simple distillation of ethanol, the purest one could obtain is the 95% concentration.

Then in the history of chemistry, a history, I am new at learning about, came fourth the inclusion of a third specie, and in the case of ethanol:water, in came benzene, and benzene via intermolecular forces, created what is coined an azeotrope, that is a mixture of set amounts of benzene and water, that has a boiling point, lower than ethanol, as well as water, and along came Dean Stark traps, that result in the lowest boiling point specie, or mixture, as an azeotrope is, will enter an upward projected condenser, and when the vapour of this mixture is condensed to its more typical state, and temperature, a downward funnel was designed that when the azeotrope separated, the denser specie of the azeotrope, sinks to the bottom of a trap, that usually includes a tap, so that the water in the described case, is not only separated, but removed, and the top layer of this trap, the less dense specie will fill up, and end up reentering the refluxing flask, to potentially continue the process of removing the eliminated water.