March 29, 2024, 09:09:11 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Using beta glucosidase to hydrolyse terpene bound hydrocarbons from hops in beer  (Read 4279 times)

Offline KLITE

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Hi all

A quick disclaimer, my knowlege of chemistry is somewhat basic and mostly self taught resulting from a quest to make the hops come out as much as naturally possible in a beer.

From my understanding this enzyme not only helps breaking down glucosides but also somewhat enhances the yeasts biotransformation of different essential oils.

this is is the information of the enzyme i can acquire:

https://www.sigmaaldrich.com/catalog/product/sigma/49290?lang=es&region=ES&cm_sp=Insite-_-recent_fixed-_-recent5-4

I can understand the concept of enzymatic activity and how its measurement is numerated. However i dont really have an idea how to calculate what a good concentration would be for using in a high gravity wort, and how resistant it can be to alcohols (including some fusels) and esters (a tone of those).
Can anyone help with usage amounts, even if ballpark?

Offline Babcock_Hall

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +319/-22
I can only give you a brief and general answer now, but I may be able to return to this question later.  It sounds as if you need to know two things.  One is how good a substrate for beta-glucosidase the compound in question is.  Two is how stable beta-glucosidase is under the conditions of your experiment.  My general answer is that if neither question has been studied before, you would have to determine this information for yourself.

Offline KLITE