April 19, 2024, 12:21:17 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Column cleaning - not good...  (Read 2352 times)

Offline Krkann

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Column cleaning - not good...
« on: March 22, 2018, 06:19:02 PM »
I need an advice. I'm a noob in GC and I recently started doing my MSc thesis on analysis of some terpenes in essential oil. A couple of days ago I did a stupid mistake and run analysis of a sample which was way too concentrated, and now unfortunately I have some unwanted peaks of the heavier compounds I can't remove from the column, I guess (?) the compounds are stuck on the column...

I was "rinsing" the column by running a quick heating program up to 280°C with pure solvents (hexanes, MeOH, DCM...) for a last couple of days, but I always get a forest of stretched peaks above 200°C which don't disappear. It doesn't seem to look like a column leak.

How do I clean the column? It's a MXT-5 packed column.

Edit: I also cleaned the liner and changed glass wool, but it didn't help...

Offline hypervalent_iodine

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +33/-1
Re: Column cleaning - not good...
« Reply #1 on: March 22, 2018, 07:09:27 PM »
Could you give a bit more information about how you're running the GC? Specifically, how quick is a quick heating method, what is the max operating temperature of the column, and what temperature do you run the inlet at when you do a normal run?