April 26, 2024, 07:19:34 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Decarboxylation (Chemical Reaction Rate)  (Read 2338 times)

Offline Habib21

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Decarboxylation (Chemical Reaction Rate)
« on: March 26, 2018, 02:16:38 PM »
I'm sorry for posting this as it may be an easy question for most, but it has been years since I took Chemistry and my background is in Microbiology.

I'll pose my question for anyone who has time to help:

I'm trying to use the data from research paper at the link here:
https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC5549281/#eq3

I'm trying to make a model wherein one could predict the time necessary to decarboxylate an extract of THCa to THC at 110 degrees celsius.  My understanding is that this is a 1st order reaction, and the paper states that the rate constant k= 1.83x10^3 @110C.  They also state the Ea value as well. 

So how would I use this information to predict the rate and time it would take for another extract to reach completion?  I have a feeling this is really basic but I'm struggling.

Ex.

I have 150g of extract with a potency of 500mg/g Δ9THCA. (If I need to convert this to moles Δ9THCA Molar mass = 357.47 g/mol)

How would I calculated how long it needs at 110°C to fully decarboxylate.  And how could I set up an excel grid to show the theoretical amounts of THCA remaining at different points in time?

Any insight is GREATLY appreciated!

Offline Corribus

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +530/-23
  • A lover of spectroscopy and chocolate.
Re: Decarboxylation (Chemical Reaction Rate)
« Reply #1 on: March 26, 2018, 09:38:52 PM »