April 24, 2024, 08:09:46 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Questions about redox reactions involving oxygen  (Read 4307 times)

Offline bureto

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Questions about redox reactions involving oxygen
« on: April 08, 2018, 12:06:53 AM »
Hi, I came to this forum in hopes that I will be able to ask multiple questions in one post relating to this topic in mind. I have a couple of questions, mostly regarding the electrolysis of a sodium hydroxide solution. I have thought up a design for a electrolytic cell and I am curious if it will work.

1. As far as I know, stainless steel is resistant to corrosion due to an inert oxide layer formed by the other alloy metals. I am learning about redox reactions right now so I am no expert; but since stainless is not to be used as a anode, I am wondering why is it allowed as an cathode? Wouldn't the oxide layer be reduced, forming oxygen gas and thus exposing more of the metal and lead to corrosion?

2. I have also read that stainless forms hexavalent chromium when being used as a anode, so is that because it gains extra oxygen atoms due to the oxidizing process? If so, it should be okay to put it in a high oxygen environment, as long as no current is hooked up to it, right?

3. When using a carbon anode, does it only produce carbon dioxide? And is this gas formed from ions, or is there oxygen gas present first, which later reacts with the carbon?

4. Here is my design, I do not care at the moment that the gases are being mixed: https://imgur.com/a/xC4YD
My thoughts are that the increased surface area will increase the reaction rate. The only downside I can think of is that the gases mix, is there any other reason this cell wouldn't be very good? I have the graphite rods coming in the mail so I cannot test it but I am very curious to hear an experts criticism.