April 19, 2024, 03:13:06 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Coupling mercaptopropionic acid  (Read 1834 times)

Offline kelloggs93

• Very New Member
  • Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Coupling mercaptopropionic acid
« on: May 13, 2018, 11:26:26 AM »
Hi! I'm a organic chemistry PhD student and I'm a new member of this forum :)
I'm writing because I have problems with a reaction. Normally, I do a lot of coupling reactions but this time I have a thiol terminal group that maybe causes troubles. I've never worked with thiols.
So, I did a coupling reaction between a cyclopeptides with a free primary amine and the mercaptopropionic acid. The condition of the reaction are:

-1 equivalent of amine
-1.2 equivalent of acid
-2 equivalent of Collidinen
-2 equivalent of DIPEA
-1.2 equivalent of HATU
-1.2 equivalent of HOAt
Solvent: DMFdry/DCM dry 1/3

The starter cyclopeptides that I'm using is a TFA salt.
Normally, I put amine, HATU, HOAt, DIPEA, Collidinen in a flask with DMFdry and DCMdry and then I put the flask in the ice for 15 min. I also degased the solvent and put the reaction under Ar. After this I add the acid and after I make the reaction goes to rt.

When I see the starting materials disappear on TLC, I do 3 extraction in EtOAc and then I dry the organic phase with MgSO4.
At the end of this process, normally I purify on reverse phase the crude, and and sometimes at the NMR I see the product that I want, but the yield is 5-10% and I don't know why.
Could maybe the thiols be trapped in the MgSO4? Do you have suggestions for this reaction?
Thanks to everyone!

Kelly

Offline Babcock_Hall

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +321/-22
Re: Coupling mercaptopropionic acid
« Reply #1 on: May 14, 2018, 10:17:37 AM »