Chemical Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Sponsored links

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: How to prepare for industrial job as a postdoc??  (Read 2437 times)

OLED2550

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
How to prepare for industrial job as a postdoc??
« on: July 15, 2018, 02:20:08 PM »

Hi Guys

I am an early postdoc (~9 months). My PhD is about OLED and my current project is about silicone polymers. Both of which are highly related to industry. I have three patents (all during PhD).

1. What do you think about my odds of getting a job in industry?

2. What should I do to increase my odds of getting a job in industry?

3. What kind of project should I work on to attract industry employers?

PS: I do not give up academia career path. I just wanna have a two-hand preparation

hypervalent_iodine

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +21/-1
Re: How to prepare for industrial job as a postdoc??
« Reply #1 on: July 15, 2018, 05:45:49 PM »

Do you have any first author papers? I can't give much advice as I am only just getting to the point of applying for post docs myself, but one thing I was told by someone in industry was to make sure you have post-doc or other lab experience outside of what you did your PhD in. I am not sure hoe general that advice is to industry positions, but I am sure someone else here could comment.

wildfyr

• Global Moderator
  • Mole Snacks: +125/-9
« Reply #2 on: July 15, 2018, 06:48:14 PM »

You'll be fine. The PhD says you can learn new skills and at synthesize complex data. Expertise in a precise field is not necessary, but helpful.

There's a million billion science skills to learn, it's shooting in the dark. Much better odds to improve ordinary ones like buffing your resume, interviewing well, networking, that crap everyone needs.

OLED2550

« Reply #3 on: July 15, 2018, 08:05:00 PM »