April 25, 2024, 11:33:27 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Why gold is yellow? Orbital contraction??  (Read 2746 times)

Offline saeho

• Very New Member
  • Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Why gold is yellow? Orbital contraction??
« on: August 22, 2018, 09:02:12 AM »
I know that metals such as gold and copper absorb the visible light area by the orbital contraction.
But when we looked at the metals in color, we found that they all had something in common that they had an s orbital with one electron in a stable state.
If there are two electrons in the s orbital, the resistance becomes more powerful, resulting in less orbital contraction, so if there is only one electron in the sobital, it becomes colored, right?

And each last orbital is copper: 4s1 gold: 6s1 francium:7s1.
Why isn't Rubidium colored with 5s1 as the last obital?
Shouldn't Rubidium, like these, absorb the visible light area by the orbital contraction?
Can you explain why?

I am still a high school student, so I don't learn the details, so let me know if there is anything wrong with it.
And because I am not good at English, I have used some translators, so please be aware of that.

Offline Mitch

• General Chemist
  • Administrator
  • Mole Snacks: +376/-3
  • "I bring you peace." -Mr. Burns
    • Chemistry Blog
Re: Why gold is yellow? Orbital contraction??
« Reply #1 on: August 22, 2018, 09:24:56 AM »
Gold is a bit unique since relativistic effects play a major part in its chemistry.

See: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Relativistic_quantum_chemistry#Color_of_gold_and_caesium
Most Common Suggestions I Make on the Forums.
1. Start by writing a balanced chemical equation.
2. Don't confuse thermodynamic stability with chemical reactivity.
3. Forum Supports LaTex

Offline chenbeier

• Mole Snacks: +102/-22
« Reply #2 on: August 22, 2018, 10:26:48 AM »
Additional copper also has a different color . All elements Cu, Ag and Au are in the same group of the periodic table.