May 17, 2024, 06:24:12 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Pourbaix diagram  (Read 860 times)

Offline cheemiistryyyy

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Pourbaix diagram
« on: April 07, 2024, 01:18:50 PM »
Hi everyone,

It concerns the following task (see attachment), which also includes solutions. What I can't comprehend is the diagram. I don't understand how to interpret this diagram and why it looks the way it does. Since we haven't discussed this topic yet and I'm studying ahead, I'm having difficulty understanding what the diagram represents. Could someone please explain this diagram to me step by step so that I can understand it?

the following task:
Calculate and sketch the Pourbaix diagram based on the following reactions and label the individual phases. Note: Plot the curve for reaction c) from the intersection point of reactions a) and b).
Why are there deviations from the Pourbaix diagram observed in the experiment?

Offline Borek

• Mr. pH
  • Administrator
  • Deity Member
  • Mole Snacks: +1801/-410
  • I am known to be occasionally wrong.
    • Chembuddy
Re: Pourbaix diagram
« Reply #1 on: April 07, 2024, 01:46:28 PM »
Have you tried to google for Pourbaix diagram and read what and how it represents? Even wikipedia should give you some basic information.
ChemBuddy chemical calculators - stoichiometry, pH, concentration, buffer preparation, titrations.info

Offline cheemiistryyyy

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
« Reply #2 on: April 07, 2024, 02:53:39 PM »
I have that, but it's not just about the basic information, it's about the relationship of the diagram with the task.
I'm not sure what I need to do exactly.
Especially, I don't understand the following: Plot the curve for reaction c) from the intersection point of reactions a) and b). What should I do here?

Offline Borek

• Mr. pH
  • Administrator
  • Deity Member
  • Mole Snacks: +1801/-410
  • I am known to be occasionally wrong.
    • Chembuddy
« Reply #3 on: April 08, 2024, 04:17:17 AM »