May 06, 2024, 06:38:29 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: balancing chemical equation  (Read 1534 times)

Offline iceboy99

• Very New Member
  • Mole Snacks: +0/-0
balancing chemical equation
« on: December 12, 2019, 10:33:23 PM »
I just had my final exam for chemistry and I really messed up this one question. This is the first chemistry class I've ever taken so obviously I'm not an expert on the subject. The equation I had to balance was Barium nitrate  added to Iron(III)  Sulfate. Heres how I wrote it. Ba(NO3)2 + Fe2(SO4)3 ---> BaSO4 + FeNO3 . and for the life of my I couldn't balance it. So I just got home and I input the equation into an online balancer to find the equation should've came out to be   
Ba(NO3)2 + Fe2(SO4)3 ----> BaSO4 + Fe(NO3)3. I got the whole question wrong because I didn't give the Iron a 3+ charge on the products side of the reaction. The rest of the problem involving moles and limiting reactants, which I know how to do. This question was worth nearly 40 points and I got a 0. I'm taking chemistry next semester and I just want to know how I can prevent this from ever happening again. Thanks

Offline Borek

• Mr. pH
  • Administrator
  • Deity Member
  • Mole Snacks: +1801/-410
  • I am known to be occasionally wrong.
    • Chembuddy
Re: balancing chemical equation
« Reply #1 on: December 13, 2019, 03:14:24 AM »
To be honest - I have no idea what to tell you. There is no other way of preventing things like that than solving problems so that you get fluent.

There was already Fe(III) on the left hand side of the equation, this is not a redox reaction so there is no way for Fe to change the oxidation state. Iron nitrate written as you did it is wrong at the first sight, there is simply not such compound, NO3- has a single negative charge, salt must be neutral, so the XNO3 needs o single positive charge cation X+, iron in salts is typically either Fe2+ or Fe3+.