May 15, 2024, 07:06:12 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Any protect. groups for a primary amine to secondary amine for a acid chloride?  (Read 3672 times)

Offline Daedalus

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Hello all and Merry Christmas everyone for 2013!

I am a ChE/Chemistry grad. student as I was wondering if anyone know whether any protecting groups exist to convert a primary amine to a secondary amine (-NH2 to -NHR) where the secondary amine is protected against electrophiles (i.e. Acid Chloride). After an extensive literature search, I could only find phthalamide and 2,3-dimethyl pyrole diprotecting groups are resistant to attack from by acid chlorides. I was hoping to find a 20 amine protecting group so I could more easily protect. deprotect the amine functionality before/after I clicked this smaller molecule onto the larger acid chloride molecule

Your help would be enormously appreciated.

Kind regards,

Ryan.

Offline kriggy

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +136/-16
can you be more specific please? Like show a sheme?
You could use some protective groups like tosyl and then alkylate?

Offline Daedalus

can you be more specific please? Like show a sheme?
You could use some protective groups like tosyl and then alkylate?

Certainly.

Please refer below:

Offline Archer

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +85/-20
what exactly are you interested in? look up functional group transformations of amines and there will be a whole bunch which are unreactive towards acid chlorides.

Please give some detail as to why you want to do this.
“ I love him. He's hops. He's barley. He's protein. He's a meal. ”

Denis Leary.

Offline Daedalus

what exactly are you interested in? look up functional group transformations of amines and there will be a whole bunch which are unreactive towards acid chlorides.

Please give some detail as to why you want to do this.

Sure, let me elaborate.