May 21, 2024, 09:41:00 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Isolating Cannabis for Medical Research  (Read 1801 times)

Offline Hgibbs12

• Very New Member
  • Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Isolating Cannabis for Medical Research
« on: July 09, 2015, 05:44:39 PM »
Hi All, I'm a Dispensary Agent for one of the state-licensed dispensaries in Colorado and I've been working with a chemist over the last week on isolating and cataloging individual cannabinoids so we can better target our patients and offer them the true medicinal benefits that they need.

I stumbled upon this forum and wanted to get the communities' opinion and open up a discussion on this topic. (I believe the discussion on drugs is acceptable but not the execution of these experiments so to the moderators, I apologize if this is against the rules)

From my understanding, there is a multitude of ways to extract individual compounds but the 2 methods I believe are going to be the most intriguing would be to use a centrifuge at a high enough speed to isolate the compounds from "Shatter" (Extracted Marijuana) or using a rotary evaporator with a short path apparatus to vaporize the THC and re-condense it into a liquid.

If any of you have any experience or knowledge on this, I'd love to get everyone's involvement.

Offline Arkcon

• Retired Staff
  • Mole Snacks: +533/-147
Re: Isolating Cannabis for Medical Research
« Reply #1 on: July 09, 2015, 07:42:27 PM »
For starters, you mean the active, tetrahydrocannabinol, isolating cannabis only requires you to identify the plant and pull it up.  I don't know where you'll find information on the isolation of the active.  It exists as many different isomers, as you can see here:  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cannabinoid#Phytocannabinoids so the prospect isn't as simple as it might ap[pear.  Furthermore, because of the illegal status of these compounds just about everywhere else (including the nation that happens to surround Colorado,) its hard to find good info.