May 04, 2024, 06:24:02 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Car Fuel Efficiency Using HHO  (Read 16269 times)

Offline tractor engine

• Very New Member
  • Mole Snacks: +0/-1
Car Fuel Efficiency Using HHO
« on: January 11, 2008, 08:28:38 PM »
Is it possible to increase fuel efficiency within a car engine using the techniques described here: http://easywatercar.com/2books.htm

I can see the logic behind it but to produce such an amount of HHO within such a small jar of water (using electrolysis powered from the battery) would, I'd have thought had a negligible effect on the efficiency of an engine.

As an engineer I know little about chemistry but I'd be interested as to what you think. Would this really work?

We have been discussing the subject at a popular UK forum here:http://forums.moneysavingexpert.com/showthread.html?t=674369 where the idea is being criticised fairly heavily! We'd be really grateful if any of you could put any of your thoughts or ideas across on the matter.

Many thanks, Matt

Offline ifuller

• Mole Snacks: +1/-1
Re: Car Fuel Efficiency Using HHO
« Reply #1 on: January 11, 2008, 10:02:24 PM »
I think this is someone trying to make a quick dollar.

First of all, the engine of the car is used to recharge the cars battery. If you use energy from the battery to electrolyse the water, the engine will have to work harder to recharge the battery.

To continue, it is very difficult to simply electrolyze pure water. It is not, in and of it self, a very good conductor. If you use an electrolyte such as NaCl (Salt) to enhance the conductivity of the water you will produce Hydrogen and Chlorine gas. Not the Hydrogen and Oxygen that is needed.