May 12, 2024, 12:13:00 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Testing for silk?  (Read 7853 times)

Offline Amanita

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Testing for silk?
« on: May 03, 2014, 01:47:46 PM »
Hi, I'm new to this forum, and I'm hoping someone can help me with a question about testing for silk fibres.

I want to test some silk which I bought in Thailand, as well as an unknown fabric lining a piece of furniture that I was given.

I found these instructions: "At room temperature, mix a solution of 16 g copper sulfate (CuSO4) in 150 cc of water. Then add 8-10 g glycerine. Now mix in caustic soda (sodium hydroxide: NaOH) until the solution becomes clear. A small sample of natural silk will completely dissolve but this mixture won't affect cotton, rayon, and nylon."

I studied chemistry in school, but it's a long time since I've done any formally.  Perhaps unwisely, I tried following the instructions to see if I could get it to work, but I just ended up with a thick, murky turquoise mess.

I tried searching for instructions or videos of this same process, but I couldn't find anything outside of silk-buying websites.  It seems to be related to a process for making Copper Hydroxide, but I don't understand the purpose of the glycerine.  It also seems similar to the Biuret test, but that calls for Potassium sodium tartrate instead of glycerine, and it requires the protein to be in an aqueous sample.

My questions are:
  • Do the above instructions sound plausible for testing for silk?
  • If so, what errors am I likely to have made to lead to this outcome?
  • If not, is there any test which I could do with fairly minimal equipment which would let me test whether a fabric is made of silk?

Thanks in advance for any insight.

Offline billnotgatez

• Global Moderator
  • Mole Snacks: +223/-62
Re: Testing for silk?
« Reply #1 on: May 03, 2014, 09:52:33 PM »
Is there a link we can use for your instructions

I found these instructions

Offline Amanita