May 17, 2024, 03:28:48 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Reverse Osmosis storage tank - previously held annatto food colouring  (Read 3417 times)

Offline Dewi_Sant

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Hi - Please bear with me whilst I try and explain my question - I have added as much other possibly relevant info as I can:-
Other than the general tests I carry out on the water of my tropical saltwater marine aquarium - PH - Nitrate, Nitrite, Phosphate, calcium, and hardness etc I am a complete novice as regards chemistry - I started  with a 4 foot x 2 foot tank but the fish have outgrown this tank  so I have just installed a 9 foot x 3 foot one - when using the 4 foot tank 2 x 10 gallon containers was plenty for the regular water changes required - My R.O. unit can only process 50 gallon a day maximum - now as this tank plus the sump require 500 gallons to fill I needed a far bigger storage tank for the RO water so I purchased a 1,000 litre plastic container that was from a cheese factory - it had contained a food colouring called Annatto (E160B) Extract - Double strength - there is plenty of information on it through Google if you are chemically conversant but 2 a thicko like me it looks like a minefield - now there is a warning label on the container that states *Irritating to eyes and skin - contains Potassium Hydroxide* now with what do I need to wash this tank out with that would destroy any residue of the colouring extract - once it fills with the RO water I will be adding saltwater crystals to a SG of 1.026 and another chemical 'Propper PH 8.4'  and it will be heated to 25 deg C - any of which could possibly cause a reaction  to any annatto residue left or to the marine fish and crustacions

Any help/advice would be much appreciated - Dewi

harnessk