May 10, 2024, 06:10:29 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: grignard gets clogged  (Read 11598 times)

Offline gandalf

• Very New Member
  • Mole Snacks: +0/-0
grignard gets clogged
« on: October 19, 2008, 10:58:57 AM »
Hi,
i'm trying to prepare a grignard reagent from benzyl chloride and Mg in diethyl ether. The reaction begins without problems, only handwarmth and a small crystal of iodine does the trick every time, but soon after initiation the Mg gets clogged with a thick white paste and refuses to react further. I guess this particular grignard isn't soluble enough in ether, and my question is: what would you do to enhance its solubility? Add another solvent, raise the temp (but with ether...), try with THF instead of ether? I'm not an expert but my best guess is to add another solvent after the reaction has initiated. What solvent would be a good bet in this case, toluene maybe?

Offline taurean

• Mole Snacks: +4/-2
Re: grignard gets clogged
« Reply #1 on: October 19, 2008, 12:04:42 PM »
Hi,
i'm trying to prepare a grignard reagent from benzyl chloride and Mg in diethyl ether. The reaction begins without problems, only handwarmth and a small crystal of iodine does the trick every time, but soon after initiation the Mg gets clogged with a thick white paste and refuses to react further. I guess this particular grignard isn't soluble enough in ether, and my question is: what would you do to enhance its solubility? Add another solvent, raise the temp (but with ether...), try with THF instead of ether? I'm not an expert but my best guess is to add another solvent after the reaction has initiated. What solvent would be a good bet in this case, toluene maybe?

Try THF or 1,2-dimethoxyethane.
« Last Edit: October 19, 2008, 03:08:36 PM by Mitch »

Offline T-rex

« Reply #2 on: October 19, 2008, 04:20:30 PM »
raise the temp to about the boiling point of the ether while magnetic stirring bar is moving around.