May 17, 2024, 10:09:19 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Reaction Rate EEI - Sodium Thiosulphate and Hydrochloric Acid  (Read 5202 times)

Offline vJames

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Hi all, I'm a high school student and I've just made my account here because I need a little bit of help. Chemistry is my favourite subject and I really want/need to know about analyzing my data.

As the topic is on reaction rate, I picked the reaction between sodium thiosulphate and hydrochloric acid and the effects of concentration on reaction rate. It was a very common experiment among the students this year and the past year and was a reaction that provided results that gave a lot of information to talk about in the EEI (as I've heard) to show the teacher my investigation of the reaction.

The basic method involved drawing a cross on a piece of paper and putting a beaker above it. Next, two known concentrations of sodium thiosulphate and HCl were poured into a beaker and the time was measured for the sulfur precipitate to form to a level where you could no longer see the cross on the paper.

Now I understand that the use of the cross and paper is to just ensure that when the concentration is changed in later tests, that you have a consistent point where you know the reaction is at. I understand that the sulfur colloid does not mean that the reaction is necessarily completed when you cannot see the cross, its just an indicator for reference. We conducted the experiment with 5 different concentrations of both HCl and sodium thio, these were 0.2, 0.4, 0.6, 0.8 and 1.0M. So we had 25 tests at different moralities of each and conducted 3 trials at each concentration combination, giving us 75 total trials.