May 08, 2024, 10:12:57 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Stability of carbocations  (Read 4556 times)

Offline samuel

• Mole Snacks: +2/-0
Stability of carbocations
« on: April 28, 2013, 02:07:47 PM »
Hello from Barcelona,

I've found an interesting result (at least interesting for me :) ) calculating the energy of different carbocations with gamess. The basis is STO-3G
NOTE: I'm just a 4th year chemistry student and I've not so much experience with computational chemistry.

The results are:
Comparing the satability of the following serie of carbocations
H2C(CH3)+ ; H2C(CH2CH3)+;H2C(CH2CH2CH3)+ ; H2C(CH2C2CH2CH3)+ etc

So here the parameter is the length of the chain. What I was expecting was that stability increases while the length of the chain increases. And, in fact, that's true, but my surprise comes from that I've found a linear correlation between them showed in the figure.

My questions are:

1.- I thought that the correlation would be similar to a function like y=1/(chain length) so that the energy difference between H2C(CH3)+  :resonance:  H2C(CH2CH3)+ would be higher than the difference between (for example) H2C(CH2CH2CH2CH2CH3) +  :resonance: H2C(CH2CH2CH2CH2CH2CH3) +. But according to the linear correlation, that wouldn't be true. Who's wrong, Me or the computer?¿  (I think that there is an effect of electronic density donation by the carbon chain to the carbocation, but I don't think that this effect has a linear relation with the length of the chain).

2.- The value of energy that the program gives (in Hartrees), which reference do they have? (which is the "zero" energy reference for that value?).

I hope that the discussion will be interesting,

Samuel Núñez

Offline Corribus

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +532/-23
  • A lover of spectroscopy and chocolate.
Re: Stability of carbocations
« Reply #1 on: April 29, 2013, 12:19:58 AM »