May 03, 2024, 10:19:18 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Need Some Advice  (Read 2638 times)

Offline habbababba

• Mole Snacks: +0/-2
Need Some Advice
« on: November 10, 2015, 01:51:32 PM »
I totally understand that this very likely may not be the place I should be posting on to get answers to my questions and I profusely apologize for asking nevertheless.
I have reached a point of desperation and I thought perhaps expressing my concern to people who may have previous tangible experience in similar situations could give me a different, yet important insight on the issue.
I have a bachelor's degree in biology and a minor in chemistry. The original plan for getting into science was to get into Med School and become a physician. As I moved forward into my degree however, I realized that I can't spend the rest of my life as a physician. It's a respectable and noble career with many great benefits (and no, I'm not just referring to the financial benefits) but, as hackneyed as it may sound, I genuinely enjoyed the science I was learning and developed much less interest in all the other significant aspects that are associated with becoming a physician. For this, I started to have doubts about whether I want to become a physician and eventually I decided, under other circumstances, to let go of this plan and to start thinking about doing research instead.