May 17, 2024, 01:19:09 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Grown some crystals in my fridge - curious what they are  (Read 7499 times)

Offline balaruman

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Grown some crystals in my fridge - curious what they are
« on: January 05, 2012, 11:44:29 AM »
Complete chemistry noob here, but really curious about the stuff that inadvertently grown in my fridge.

It started when somebody gave me some advice on how to get rid of unpleasant smells in the refrigerator - a friend suggested some baking soda (sodium bicarbonate). I wasn't paying too much attention at the time, so I got it wrong - instead of dry baking soda I used baking powder dissolved in a glass of water. Then I put it in the fridge and forgot about it for ~4 weeks.
When I found it again, my glass looked really interesting : there were large (~3cm long, 5mm wide) transparent crystals grown along the inner side of the glass. There was other stuff too : fine white powder at the bottom (probably starch), needle-like transparent crystals in the water, and white small crystals along the rim of the glass.

So, what happened there ?

I did some research and by the looks of it the large crystals are sodium acetate. However, the powder I used was supposed to contain sodium bicarbonate and some acid (phosphate acid?) in the exact proportion required to react - so how could it also react with the traces of acetic acid in the fridge to produce the crystals ?
Again, I'm a complete noob, so maybe I got it wrong.

Is there any (simple) way to test using only stuff already present in my kitchen ? And to optimize growth (bigger, clearer crystals).

Thank you.
(see attached photo of the crystals)

Offline Arkcon

• Retired Staff
  • Mole Snacks: +533/-147
Re: Grown some crystals in my fridge - curious what they are
« Reply #1 on: January 05, 2012, 12:04:58 PM »