May 07, 2024, 07:58:43 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: LCAO coefficients: MO  (Read 4287 times)

Offline xshadow

• Mole Snacks: +1/-0
LCAO coefficients: MO
« on: October 22, 2015, 01:40:20 PM »
Hi All!!

In general chemistry and inorganic chemistry  courses i  studied the MO-theory to understand how to mix the O.A in order to form the MO's of a molecule.

But now that i'm studying "the whole" quantomeccanic theory in Physical Chemistry i have some doubt.

For example one LCAO of HF molecule of the valence shell(using some approximation about energy and symmetry is given by mixing:

a) 1s(H)
b)2pz(F)

So when i mix  2OA i'll get 2MO.
In general chemistry i have studied that these two MO  are given by:

psi+ = 1s + 2pz
psi- = 1s- 2pz

But now studying physical chemistry i know that there is no reason to think that the coefficinets in these  two linear combinations are:

psi+ --->  c2=c1
psi-  --->  c2=-c1

In fact i have checked and the two coefficients doesn't have the same value in module (they have the same value only in the homonuclear diatomic molecules!! )

So why in general chemistry i suppose that c1=c2 (in module) for a case that  doesn't involve a    homonuclear diatomic molecule??

Is  it an approximation or what??

Thanks!!!

Offline Corribus

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +532/-23
  • A lover of spectroscopy and chocolate.
Re: LCAO coefficients: MO
« Reply #1 on: October 22, 2015, 01:55:26 PM »
The coefficients are only equal when the orbital energies are equal. In a molecule like HF, the electrons are attracted far more to the fluorine than the nitrogen. This is reflected in the HOMO, which has a lot more fluorine AO character than hydrogen AO character. Conversely, the LUMO, an antibonding orbital, has more hydrogen character than fluorine character. You can do some basic theoretical treatments and show that the coefficients are related to the energy differences between the two mixing AOs.