May 17, 2024, 02:11:27 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Paint and Irn Bru? pigment question.  (Read 11865 times)

Offline MF3000

• Mole Snacks: +2/-0
Paint and Irn Bru? pigment question.
« on: June 23, 2007, 06:18:49 PM »
Hello Chemical Forums - I joined up just to ask this question  :-\

A little bit of background first, in terms of chemistry, I have completed upto 7th form (that is, final year of high school) chemistry, but I am a history and politics student in university... (ala Arts). So I will be lacking tremendous amount of chemistry terminology, but use those terms if it helps to answer the following question.

Over at 40k Online, one of the members found out a method of mixing acrylic paint with the Scottish drink, Irn Bru. http://www.40konline.com/mos/index.php?option=com_smf&Itemid=861&topic=140225.0
Here is also a link about Irn Bru:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Irn_Bru

To quote from the post, and highlight on my own;
Stage 4. 2nd Shade - blood red.
Now mix Irn Bru into blood red. You should notice a little fizzing, once this has died down the chemical reaction has worked, you will now notice when you paint it on an increased vibrancy, and a slight opaqueness which aids blending, but heres the clever part, it still covers dark colours really well, this is due to the artificial colouring in the Irn Bru!

Here is another example from a different poster;
Glad to see I am not the only one who uses soda for painting purposes. Have you ever tried using Coca-Cola as a substitute for vallejo smoke? I used it in a pinch when I ran out of smoke, works wonders! You have to mix the coke with a  bit of scorched brown for best results.

Another quote;
I agree, I curious to why it would help the coverage. Maybe the carbonation works to distribute the pigment more evenly. More investigation is needed...anyone take chemistry? I flunked.

So several questions came to mind from this experiment...