May 26, 2024, 10:07:59 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Help with colour change electrochemical reaction  (Read 4980 times)

Offline GrahamO

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Help with colour change electrochemical reaction
« on: February 13, 2015, 05:27:03 AM »
Hello,

First post, so please be gentle and I hope this question is within the remit of the forum. I crave your forgiveness if it is not.

Many years ago I was an analytical chemist, so my inorganic knowledge was limited then and almost non existent now. On the basis of my electronics knowledge, I was asked to solve a problem by a friend, but I think the solution may be chemical.

What I am looking for is a colour change reaction which is permanent and can be achieved by passing a small current through the "indicator tube" (a transparent tube in which the colour change occurs and is visible to the operator). The trigger for the reaction will make a circuit between a battery and the indicator tube. As the battery discharges, the current flowing through the indicator tube will effect a colour change which can be seen.

Rough specs for the system are:
Voltage - 1.5V preferred, (a single dry cell) but more could be put in series if required.
Current - a few mA
Lifetime untriggered - 10 years
Lifetime triggered - must be visible for 10 years
Environmental - must work from +60C to -20C

If anyone can give me any pointers for solutions or where to look for further information, it would be much appreciated.

Many thanks for your help,

Graham

Offline Borek

• Mr. pH
  • Administrator
  • Deity Member
  • Mole Snacks: +1803/-410
  • I am known to be occasionally wrong.
    • Chembuddy
Re: Help with colour change electrochemical reaction
« Reply #1 on: February 13, 2015, 06:09:14 AM »
In general it sounds doable, with one serious caveat. -20°C means easy to manage water electrochemistry is off the limits.