May 06, 2024, 09:37:56 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Generating a potential difference with two steel electrodes in two different ele  (Read 2232 times)

Offline shangri

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Hi,

I am a civil engineering student currently starting a project on electro-kinetic remediation with no external power supply.

I have two connected steel electrodes, one placed in copper sulphate solution and one placed in just water.

They are placed either side of a clay sample spiked with copper sulphate also, the idea being that a potential difference between the two electrodes will cause the disassociated copper ions in the saturated clay to migrate towards the cathode.

Here is where I am stuck, I am unsure how a potential difference is generated between the electrodes. I am aware that it is to do with the corrosion of the electrodes and a difference in electrolyte concentration but not sure how.

Any help would be appreciated..

Offline Borek

• Mr. pH
  • Administrator
  • Deity Member
  • Mole Snacks: +1801/-410
  • I am known to be occasionally wrong.
    • Chembuddy
Sounds more or less like a concentration cell.

What do you now about electrochemistry? Standard potentials? Formal potentials? Nernst equation? There are thick books on the subject.
ChemBuddy chemical calculators - stoichiometry, pH, concentration, buffer preparation, titrations.info

Offline shangri

I have read up on concentration cells and things like Nernst equations and standard potentials keep popping up. Like i said, i study civil engineering and have absolutely no background in electrochemistry.

This is where I am at so far.. In the copper sulphate solution i expect this to happen..
Fe :rarrow: Fe2+ + e-
and..
Cu2+ + 2e-  :rarrow: Cu
Does do the Fe2+ ions then join with the SO42- to form FeSO4?

Or does this also disassociate into Fe2+ and SO42-

And in the water I expect this to happen..
Fe :rarrow: Fe2+ + 2e-

Does H20 come into this somewhere?  Complete madness!