May 09, 2024, 02:25:46 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Seeking Advice on Chemistry Preparation  (Read 2166 times)

Offline biomiracle

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Seeking Advice on Chemistry Preparation
« on: July 01, 2014, 11:03:14 PM »
Hello!

I am a rising sophomore with double majors in a chemistry and microbiology.  The reason I wrote this post is to seek your advice on my plan to review the chemistry for myself and for the research lab; I am currently working for the synthetic chemistry lab that focuses on the antibiotics and medical microbiology.  Besides the research, I do not have anything to do for this summer so I am planning to devote the time on my studying.

I will be taking the organic chemistry course along with the biochemistry.  I think it is a good idea to preview the organic chemistry during this summer, but I think I did not master my general chemistry as well as I should...I remember that the course was heavily focused on the physical chemistry (elementary).  Should I skip the review of general chemistry and go right into studying of organic chemistry and research-related papers, or should I review the general chemistry during this summer?  Can I study both organic chemistry, general chemistry, and biochemistry at the same time?  Here are the topics from general chemistry that I feel confident: wavefunctions and electron density, basics of chemical bonding (no MO theory), stoichiometry, and acids-bases & electrochemistry & chemical equilibrium (I took the analytical chemistry on last semester).

Thank you very much for your time!
I look forward to your advice!

Offline kriggy

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +136/-16
Re: Seeking Advice on Chemistry Preparation
« Reply #1 on: July 02, 2014, 03:56:04 AM »
I dont think general chemistry knowledge is any help in organic synthesis - or at least I never had the need to dive lets say into wavefunctions in orgchem lab.