May 06, 2024, 07:09:47 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: NH4-EDTA, to make a mixture (??) or to obtain from somewhere?  (Read 12557 times)

Offline kwikwi

• Very New Member
  • Mole Snacks: +1/-0
NH4-EDTA, to make a mixture (??) or to obtain from somewhere?
« on: October 16, 2011, 02:57:17 AM »
Hi all,

I'm having a problem figuring out one solution needed for sequential extraction of soil metals.
It's the fourth fraction of Zeien and Bruhmmer method (1989), where 0,025M NH4-EDTA is used.

It might be my lack of general chemistry knowledge (I'm a biologist), but among a variety of EDTA solutions and mixtures  to be ordered from supply companies (in Europe), I can't seem to find ammonium-EDTA...

What am I doing wrong?
I feeel like it's something notoriously obvious that I am missing...

Thanks,
viki.

Offline Borek

• Mr. pH
  • Administrator
  • Deity Member
  • Mole Snacks: +1801/-410
  • I am known to be occasionally wrong.
    • Chembuddy
Re: NH4-EDTA, to make a mixture (??) or to obtain from somewhere?
« Reply #1 on: October 16, 2011, 05:25:38 AM »
I am not surprised you can't find it - EDTA is usually sold as as either acid or disodium salt. You can prepare ammonium salt just by dissolving EDTA in ammonia solution (watch for stoichiometry).
ChemBuddy chemical calculators - stoichiometry, pH, concentration, buffer preparation, titrations.info

Offline kwikwi

• Very New Member
  • Mole Snacks: +1/-0
« Reply #2 on: October 18, 2011, 12:47:26 AM »
Thanks!

I suspected that, but was uncertain if it actually should be 0.025 mole of NH3 and 0.025 mole of EDTA in one litre. Should it? (is that what you mean by - watch for stectiometry)

And then again if  a tetraammonium edta is potentially formed, does that mean that as long as it is 1:1 in moles, it should stay what it is stated in the procedure - NH4-EDTA, with one ammonium attached?

I really appreciate your reply, I found no better answer from a number of coleageues around me.... thanx.
kwi.