April 23, 2024, 10:24:18 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: I need recomendations for a chemical reaction for an engineering class  (Read 27613 times)

deciple77

Hi, I am an engineering student who needs help finding a chemical reaction for a class project.  We were assigned to design and build a miniture car that is propelled by a chemical reaction.  My initial reaction is to find a combustion reaction or an acid base reaction, but I want something orignal that no one else is likely to use. I figure any reaction that releases a significant volume of gas will do the job, but my limited experience in chemistry does not provide me with a reaction that is adiquite and safe.
Any sujestions?

Thanks
Deciple

Offline jdurg

• Banninator
  • Retired Staff
  • Mole Snacks: +106/-23
  • I am NOT a freak.
Re:I need recomendations for a chemical reaction for an engineering class
« Reply #1 on: September 06, 2004, 03:36:58 PM »
I think the only reason I'm saying this is cause I'm on a chlorine generation binge right now, but you could take some solid calcium hypochlorite and add concentrated hydrochloric acid to it.  The gas that comes off would be chlorine gas which you could use to move a spoke on a wheel, or perform some type of propulsion.  Any excess gas could be bubbled through an NaOH solution, thus forming chlorine bleach.  heh.
"A real fart is beefy, has a density greater than or equal to the air surrounding it, consists

Limpet Chicken

« Reply #2 on: September 06, 2004, 03:43:47 PM »
If the chlorine reaction was on a big enough scale, might it not lead to heating of the NaOH?
hypochlorite is produced from Cl+NaOH only when quite cold, at higher temperatures, the reaction produces entirely the chlorate salt instead.

Jdurg, for making Cl, I reccomend dripping conc. HCl on to KMnO4, that is the method I use to generate all of the Cl that I use, Cl evolution is fast and in large quantities.