April 20, 2024, 06:16:26 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Question about mixing hydrochloric acid with sodium hypochlorite  (Read 2443 times)

Offline emc2kh

• Very New Member
  • Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Hello all. I was wondering if anyone could point out any problems with what I want to do. I have no chemistry background so please excuse me if I use the wrong terminology. I have been feeding NaClO(10% concentration I think) into my swimming pool via a tube connected to a fitting on the suction side of my system before my pump for a while now. The problem is crystals eventually start to form in the fitting where the water touches the NaClO and slowly block the flow. I want to put a "Y" fitting in and start feeding both NaCLO and pool acid (14.5% concentration I think) through that "Y" fitting to accomplish 2 things. To regulate the pH of my pool and to clean out those crystals. The tubing is HDPE and the "Y" fitting will be Polypropylene. Will anything bad happen where those 2 chemicals touch each other in the fitting? I appreciate any help.

Offline Borek

• Mr. pH
  • Administrator
  • Deity Member
  • Mole Snacks: +1800/-410
  • I am known to be occasionally wrong.
    • Chembuddy
Re: Question about mixing hydrochloric acid with sodium hypochlorite
« Reply #1 on: June 01, 2019, 03:35:52 AM »
Mixing relatively concentrated solutions of HCl and hypochlorite (no matter what the material the fitting is made of) is a dangerous idea, as they will react vigorously producing heat and free chlorine.
ChemBuddy chemical calculators - stoichiometry, pH, concentration, buffer preparation, titrations.info

Offline emc2kh

• Very New Member
  • Mole Snacks: +0/-0
« Reply #2 on: June 04, 2019, 11:58:29 AM »
Okay, I guess I will add another fitting somewhere else so they are feeding in separate places at separate times. Thanks.

Offline ioncube

• Mole Snacks: +1/-0
« Reply #3 on: June 26, 2019, 01:34:04 PM »