Specialty Chemistry Forums > Chemical Education and Careers

Industrial chemist job in Switzerland

(1/2) > >>

blackcat:
Hello, I am writing to seek advices from experienced people here about working in industry/company as a chemist.

A little bit about my background: synthetic organic chemist with 2 year experiences as postdoc. I have never worked in company before.

I will be designing and synthesizing novel organic materials in Switzerland Basel this November.

I mainly would like to know how to survive in chemistry company and how to do well.

In particular, does anyone know about chemistry jobs in Switzerland? How does it look like? Demanding or not? Stressful or not?

Enthalpy:
Several people here work(ed) in Switzerland, I expected them to answer, but your question is already a week old. I only visited companies I had applied to.

- Foreigners get supervising positions.
- Settling looks very possible. Getting the nationality is practically impossible, except maybe by marriage. One advantage of Germany.
- Many Swiss, more so with diplomas, have several languages. Language courses exist, I suppose it's a key to integration.
- Don't try to learn German (and I suppose Swiss German, which quite differs) by practising. Have a professor, train normally, and then it's easy. Do it early, because mistakes are hard to un-learn.
- The Swiss are extremely polite, punctual, they don't speak badly of other people, and they deliver products that work. Could that be a point to integration?
- The supervisors I met knew the job, like in Germany. That's a ton stress less than in France.

blackcat:

--- Quote from: Enthalpy on October 01, 2019, 11:36:50 AM ---Several people here work(ed) in Switzerland, I expected them to answer, but your question is already a week old. I only visited companies I had applied to.

- Foreigners get supervising positions.