Chemistry Forums for Students > Analytical Chemistry Forum

I need help making a borate buffer of 0.4N, pH 10.2

(1/1)

cpt49:
Good day to all users here,

Now, judging from the topic itself, it sound like I asked a simple question, probably making myself sound lazy, but believe me, this is not the case! I'm a Master student and usually in the lab, I make my own calculations and dilutions for many different experiment, but this particular borate buffer has seem to make me question a lot... I need to make the chemical for my HPLC usage, not for assignment, so I need to make sure I do it right.  :-[

Okay, I will tell what I have done so far for this question. Now, if I'm not wrong, the first step to making solution based on normality is to know the equivalent weight of the chemical. Usually if I'm making solution like HCl, NaOH or H2SO4, the equivalent weight is easy to tell from their compound names, one hydrogen ions from HCl, 1 hydroxide ions from NaOH, and two hydrogen ions from H2SO4. But in this case here, I have the chemical in the lab, sodium tetraborate decahydrate, Na2[B4O5(OH)4]·8H2O
I made a similar calculations before, based on boric acid, you can see it here: http://tiny.cc/b0eydz

Now this puzzle me, if only from the formula itself, does Borax dissolved in water and released 12 OH- ions (Four from OH, and 8 from H2O)? Now, of course that doesn't sound right, looking at the chemical structure of borax (see link: http://tiny.cc/yxeydz , figure 1), without considering the water molecule, it seems that Borax would only released 4 hydroxide ions. So the equivalent weight should be = 381.38/4 = 95.345, where 381.38 is the molecular weight of Borax. Does this sound right for you?