April 23, 2024, 04:38:36 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Partial Pressure problem  (Read 2427 times)

Offline as0422

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Partial Pressure problem
« on: October 06, 2019, 01:53:39 PM »
Hi, I'm a first year undergrad student and I'm having trouble wrapping my head around this problem:

An atmospheric chemist, studying the pollutant sulfur trioxide (SO3), places a mixture of sulfur dioxide (SO2) and oxygen (O2) in a rigid 4.25 L container at 788 K and 1.85 atm. When the reaction occurs, gaseous sulfur trioxide is formed according to the balanced equation below and the pressure falls to 1.50 atm.

SO2 + ½O2 → SO3

Assuming that the temperature at the end of the reaction returns to its original value, what is the partial pressure of sulfur trioxide (SO3) after the reaction?

I know that the total pressure is the sum of the partial pressures but after the reaction, there's only sulfur trioxide so what "partial" pressure am I finding exactly?

Offline AWK

• Retired Staff
  • Mole Snacks: +555/-93
Re: Partial Pressure problem
« Reply #1 on: October 06, 2019, 02:11:13 PM »
Look at pressure before and after reaction and take into account the stoichiometry of reaction.
AWK

Offline as0422

« Reply #2 on: October 06, 2019, 02:35:17 PM »
I know the total pressure before the reaction is 1.85 atm and after the reaction it is 1.50 atm.
I'm assuming I have to find the limiting reactant in this problem and see how much SO3 I end up with after the reaction and then find the pressure of that? But I'm not sure if that's the right approach or how to do that with the information that I have.

Offline AWK

• Retired Staff
« Reply #3 on: October 06, 2019, 02:50:09 PM »
This is not a problem with the limiting reagent.