April 28, 2024, 08:29:17 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: How i can determinate collagen content in tissue. Help me please  (Read 3870 times)

Offline Cris

• Very New Member
  • Mole Snacks: +0/-5
Hello everybody

I am a medical student in Peru.  At present, I have been developing my thesis in ventricular remodeling; therefore I need to quantify “collagen content” in rat heart, as fibrosis index. I have tried to quantify “collagen content by hydroxyproline determination” several times in my laboratory, but I failed.

I have been following Reddy’s technique:

A simplified method for analysis of Hydroxiproline in Biological tissues.
Reddy GK, Enwemeka CS.
Clinical Biochemistry 1996;29:225-9.

My procedure:   

Preparation of myocardial samples:
The rats were weighed, anesthetized with sodium pentobarbital (50 mg/kg, intraperitoneal), and underwent median thoracotomy for heart removal. The left ventricle was separated and weighed. Later, the myocardial samples were “dehydrated” in pure alcohol for 24 hours (is this correct?). Finally, 50mg of wet tissue sample was manually homogenized (manualmente en un mortero) in 1mL NaCl.

Quantification of hydroxyproline
Duplicated Hyp standard (0, 2.0, 4.0, 6.0, 8.0, 10.0?l) and triplicated test samples (homogenate 10?l, 50mg wet tissue/ 1ml NaCl) were placed in high temperature polypropylene tubes of 2ml capacity. Later 50?l of 2N sodium hydroxide was added to each tube with Hyp standard and test samples and mixed at room temperature for 20 minutes.
Samples were hydrolyzed (alkali hydrolysis in 2N NaOH) by fire (estufa) at 120°C for 20min.

50?l of Chloramine-T was added and mixed with the hydrolyzate and oxidation was allowed to proceed for 25 minutes at room temperature.

500?l of 1M Ehrlich’s reagent was added to each sample and the samples were mixed and incubated at 65°C for 20 minutes.
Finally the absorbance of samples was read at 550nm using a spectrophotometer.