March 29, 2024, 06:49:14 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: How to get a yellow precipitate with non-hazardous chemicals?  (Read 3445 times)

Offline jag93

• Very New Member
  • Mole Snacks: +0/-0
How to get a yellow precipitate with non-hazardous chemicals?
« on: October 24, 2019, 04:14:46 AM »
I am trying to find a chemical reaction that will give a yellow precipitate. I know about the "golden rain" reaction (potassium iodide + lead nitrate), but I would ideally like to find a reaction that doesn't require very hazardous/toxic chemicals (such as lead nitrate). Does anyone know of such a reaction? I am a scientist at a University, so can easily get just about any dry chemicals. Thanks.

Offline wildfyr

• Global Moderator
  • Mole Snacks: +203/-10
Re: How to get a yellow precipitate with non-hazardous chemicals?
« Reply #1 on: October 25, 2019, 09:31:18 AM »
I found this list

Chromates, AgBr, As2S3, AgI, PbI2, CdS, PbCrO4(s), Hg2CO3(s), Ag3PO4(s), Bi(C6H3O3)(s), Cu(CN)2(s), Ag3AsO3(s), (NH3)3[As(Mo3O10)4](s), [SbI6]3-(aq),
Yellow

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Qualitative_inorganic_analysis

Yellow seems to really like nasty metals like lead, mercury, and antimony. By far the least nasty and easiest to make of these I see is the silver ones.

Simple enough, just dissolve silver nitrate, and add the appropriate sodium salt! I bet silver phosphate will be the yellowest, I've made silver halides and they usually look black, but you should try them all!

Remember silver nitrate+light will stain skin (harmlessly).

Offline chenbeier

• Mole Snacks: +102/-22
« Reply #2 on: October 25, 2019, 11:40:17 AM »
Maybe precipitate sulfur from Thiosulfate by adding acid. It is first white and change to yellow. Some sulfur dioxide will be released as well.

Offline hollytara

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +39/-0
« Reply #3 on: October 25, 2019, 11:55:53 AM »
Does it have to be inorganic?