April 23, 2024, 11:36:41 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Help identifying unknown substance  (Read 2293 times)

Offline Rootuser#matty

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Help identifying unknown substance
« on: November 03, 2019, 01:47:54 PM »
I have been given a substance to try identify. I have spent some time researching and came to the conclusion that it was Methcathinone, but after doing some investigative work with a few easily accessible solvents Iv come to the conclusion it’s not that, and investigation only led to a lot more confusion and questions. So here’s what iv figured out...

And please, I am a complete amateur so if you notice anything that is not correct feel free to correct me but I would like and explanation why if need be.
More so am doing this as a way to learn. Cheers
$SOLVENTS USED$

(HCl) hydrochloric: polar_non alkaline_water soluble_low pH...

Shellite: non polar_alkaline_not water soluble_high ph...

Methylated spirits: non polar_non alkaline_water and solvent soluble_neutral ph...

Acetone partially polar_non alkaline_water and solvent soluble...

$UNIDENTIFIABLE SUBSTANCE$

Unidentifiable substance_not soluble in water acetone or methylated spirits_ looks like a light brown transparent crystal _soluble in Shellite_smells acidic_smells oddly sweet almost a cherry like smell..

unidentifiable substance dissolved in shellite and precipitated with HCl acid and poured off.. was left with a substance that is slightly soluble in water with lots of agitation-soluble in methylated spirits with agitation, and held the same smell. Was just now in powder form and not crystal,

If you have any questions that might help as to working out what this stuff is that would be great because I’m stumped, thank you for taking the time to read this

Offline AWK

• Retired Staff
  • Mole Snacks: +555/-93
Re: Help identifying unknown substance
« Reply #1 on: November 03, 2019, 02:05:08 PM »
Illicit drug - ask Police laboratory.
AWK

Offline Borek

• Mr. pH